Metals Album Artwork Metals Album Cover
is Released
Oct 3, 2011
Oct 4, 2011

Metals debuted #1 on US Billboard Rock Charts and #7 on the Billboard 200. It was Feist’s best-ever sales week, and her first appearance on the Billboard Top 10. Spin wrote, “On Metals, taken individually, each song is as sturdy as oak—the guitars have a magnesium shimmer, and every instrument seems bathed in its own spotlight, especially Feist’s vocals, which feel like they’re being whispered directly into your ear.” Pitchfork’s Lindsay Zoladz wrote, “It feels like such a refreshing and slyly badass statement of artistic integrity”. Rolling Stone, The New York Times, and The Guardian featured the album as one of Fall’s biggest releases. Metacritic, which compiles reviews from mainstream critics, indicated the album was “universally acclaimed”.


Prospects Hymn Yeses Mettle Metals Solitaire Concrete

Produced by
Feist, Chilly Gonzales, Mocky, Valgeir Sigurðsson, Robbie Lackritz

Arranged by
Feist, Mocky, Chilly Gonzales

Recorded in Big Sur, California Feb 15–March 17, 2011

Feist — Guitars, Organ, Percussion
Chilly Gonzales — Piano, Organ, Percussion
Mocky — Drums, Acoustic and Electric Bass
Brian LeBarton — Organs, Synths, Electric Bass, Drums, Piano
Dean Stone — Drums, Percussion

Engineered By Robbie Lackritz and Lionel Darenne

String and Horn arrangements by Feist, Chilly Gonzales, Mocky
Additional horn arrangements by Colin Stetson, Evan Cranley and Valgeir Sigurðsson

Colin Stetson — Bass, Baritone and Tenor Saxophones, Bass and Tenor Clarinets, French Horn, Flute and Trumpet
Evan Cranley — Euphonium and Trombone
Irene Sazer — Violin and Group vocals
Alisa Rose — Violin and Group vocals
Dina Maccabee — Viola and Group vocals
Jessica Ivry — Cello and Group vocals
Bry Webb — Vocals on Bad In Each Other

Track Listing: Stream Album
  • The Bad In Each Other – 4:45
  • Graveyard – 4:18
  • Caught A Long Wind – 4:55
  • How Come You Never Go There – 3:25
  • A Commotion – 3:53
  • The Circle Married The Line – 3:23
  • Bittersweet Melodies – 3:57
  • Anti-Pioneer – 5:33
  • Undiscovered First – 4:59
  • Cicadas And Gulls – 3:16
  • Comfort Me – 4:04
  • Get It Wrong Get It Right – 3:39